Graeme Barton steps up to lead Junior League club

Graeme Barton was elected as the new president of the Cobar Junior Rugby League
committee last week taking over the role from Genie McMullen. Emma Barton was
returned as registrar along with Tarra Burke re-elected as secretary and Chris Brown as treasurer. Dean Brookman (absent) is the club’s new vice president.

Cobar Junior Rugby League has a new president after last week’s annual general meeting with Graeme Barton stepping up from the vice president’s role.

Outgoing president Genie McMullen did not seek re-election but was happy to take a back seat on the general committee.

Tarra Burke was returned as secretary, Christine Brown will continue in the roles of treasurer, public officer and canteen coordinator and Emma Barton was returned as registrar.

New faces joining the committee include Dean Brookman as vice president and Caitlan Ayoub has taken on the publicity officer’s role.

Joining Genie on the general committee are: Ambie McMullen, Simone Neyland, Haylee Prince, Bryce Moore, Megan Nicholson, Matt Nicholson, Riki Schaumkell, Molly Negfeldt, Anita Atuau and Bek Turton.

Plans were made for the 2024 season with a discussion around the club submitting an U14s League Tag side next year after four female players Rhylee Jeffery, Ella Oborn, Holly Watt and Audrey Josephson will be unable to play in the U13s competition next year.

The club recently received $4,000 from the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club from the ClubGrants program and plan to use that to offset the cost of registrations in 2024 after the Active Kids voucher has decreased to $50 (from $100).

The price for registrations will decrease to $50 so parents using their Active Kids vouchers will not have to pay anything extra to register.

The club also recently distributed $18,690 to reimburse parents who travelled to games in the 2023 season for their fuel costs.

The funding came from a Transport NSW Grant.