Bowlers return for legendary President’s Day hospitality

Kye Bengston (Hillston), Ross Richardson, Kym Crocker (Hay), Phil Gilligan and John Fitzgerald (Hillston) competed in the annual President’s Day bowls tournament on Sunday at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club.

The number of teams for the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club’s President’s Day annual bowls event on Sunday may have been down slightly this year however the club’s reputation for legendary hospitality has remained intact.

Club president Jim Goonrey welcomed the 14 teams which included four sides from Hay and one from Hillston who lined up along side the Cobar players for the three bowl triples tournament.

The Cobar trio of Tony Brown, David Knight and Bian Smith finished as the winners having won two games and finished with a score of +21.

The Hay team of Dave Townsend, Paul Kretschmer and Bill Moore were the runners-up.

The morning trophy was won by Cobar’s Doug Hudson,  Jack Tulloh and Kevin Barrow.

Cobar’s Dave Portelli, Terry Clyde and David Thomas won the afternoon trophy.

In other bowls news, last Thursday’s Chicken Run game was won by Bian Smith and Joy Josephson with a 15-10 win in their match.

The runners-up were Glenda Peebles and Dick Roberts.

In recent women’s bowls news, the ladies played a triples competition last Tuesday at the club with Sandra Zazoniuk, Barb Barklimore and Margaret Good finishing as the winners.

In the runners-up team were Marlene Wynd, Shine McIver and Ev Hyde.

Players are invited to nominate for Maz’s Memorial Day, a Mixed Triples Fun Day on June 4.