Auto Club names its 2017 champions

The Cobar Auto Club’s 2017 champions (and stand-ins for absent winners) collecting their trophies on Saturday afternoon at the club’s end of season presentations at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club. Photo contributed

The Cobar Auto Club held their end of season presentations and annual general meeting on Saturday at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club.

The 2017 Overall Champions were: High Power 50s—Clay McDonald; 65cc 7-9 Years—Zach Snudden; 65cc 10-12 Years—Bella Fullagar; 85cc 9-11 Years—Jordan Bruce; 85cc 12-15 Years—Jack Fazulla; Junior Ladies—Caitlin Norris; Junior Lites—William Ambrose; Senior Lites—Luke Dinnerville; Senior Opens—Wayne Blenkiron; All Powers—Wayne Blenkiron; Over 35’s—Lawrence Fairey; Senior Ladies—Jayde George; and Overall Club Champion—Wayne Blenkiron.

Luke Dinnerville collected the Craig Peatey Memorial Trophy for Senior Open MX Champion for the Year.

A new perpetual trophy was introduced this season donated by the Mackay Family in honour of their aunt Wendy Lawrence.

The wording on the trophy reads: “It’s not about being the best. It’s about being better than you were yesterday.”

Wendy’s niece Bianca Walsh said the family was keen to see riders rewarded for getting out there and giving it their best.

“It’s not only just for the riders; we’d like to acknowledge helpers as well.

“This year Molly Fairey stood out to us as she had her bike stolen here in Cobar when she’d came over from Gilgandra for a race meet and she still jumped on a bike borrowed from the Fullagar Family and had a go,” Mrs Walsh explained.

She said while Molly might not achieve a top place in her competition, she still “rides her little heart out” every time.

“That is the kid Aunty Wendy would have been cheering on from the sideline and screaming out encouragement to,” she said.

At the annual general meeting Reegan Mackay was elected as the club’s president with Bonnie Fullagar taking on the vice president role.

Bianca Walsh and Amy Coombes were elected as the club secretaries with Jo-Louise Brown returning as their treasurer.

Sean Cox will continue on in the club coaching role and Jayde George has taken over the publicity officer’s duties.