Jacob Ryan takes out NSW Sand Green title

NSW Sand Green Championships individual winner Jacob Ryan.
NSW Sand Green Championships individual winner Jacob Ryan. Contributed.















NSW Sand Green Championships winning team, Mark, Alec and Stewart Fraser. ▪ Contributed
NSW Sand Green Championships winning team, Mark, Alec and Stewart Fraser. ▪ Contributed



















Over the weekend the Cobar golf course hosted a field of 104 golfers from all over NSW for two days of golf played in warm conditions for the NSW Men’s Sand Green Championships.

The main trophy up for grabs was the John Lugsdin Memorial Trophy for the best scratch winner over the two days of competition.

Two rounds of almost faultless golf saw Jacob Ryan take out the title with a remarkable score of 130 (63-67).

Ryan’s first round score of 63 was only two shots off Craig Dillon’s course record of 61.

Brad Hurley of Condobolin, who came second, eight shots behind, described Ryan’s play as “awesome golf”.

Ryan followed in the footsteps of previous Cobar golfers to have won this trophy: Greg Read, Matt Egan and Craig Dillon.

This caps off a remarkable year for Ryan, who also won the NSW Four-ball Championships with his uncle, Michael Ryan, at Narromine earlier this year.

The young golfer also won the 2015 Atlas Copco Cobar Open in May.

Ryan credits his success to the support he has received from his family, nan Janine, pop Gary and uncle, Michael Ryan.

It was also a big weekend of golf for the Fraser family, Stewart, Alec and Mark.

Alec won the 36-hole net title with a score of 125 and brother, Mark, won the Sunday net with a score of 60.

The two boys combined well to carry father Stewart for two days to win the team title with a score of minus 40, which was 33 points better than the next best team score!

The tournament was well run by officials from NSW Golf.

The Cobar Bowling & Golf Club was acknowledged for the good condition of the course as well as the facilities provided by the Club. The lady golfers were also acknowledged for proving breakfast on Sunday.

The prize winners were: Championship winner: Jacob Ryan 130 (Cobar); Championship Runner Up: Brad Hurley 138 (Condobolin); 36-hole Nett Winner: Alec Fraser 125 (Cobar); 36-hole Nett Runner Up: Ron Fuller 126 (Walgett); Saturday Scratch Winner: Nick Packham 68 (Condobolin); Saturday Nett Winner: Anthony Beetson 63 (Wowan); Sunday Scratch Winner: Craig Dillon 68 (Cobar), Sunday Nett Winner: Mark Fraser 60 (Cobar). Team Event Winners: Mark Fraser/Alec Fraser/Stuart Fraser minus 40 (Cobar).

In the men’s competition this week the 8th Round Captain’s Trophy will be played on Saturday.

Sunday’s game is one of the year’s premier events on the local golf calendar, the Police Charity Golf Day Four Person Ambrose.

Golfers will hit-off from 9am.Out of Bounds