Yabbies win 5th consecutive Setts Memorial Trophy

The victorious Cobar Yabbies swim team returned home on Sunday with the Setts Memorial Trophy.

The Cobar Yabbies Senior Men’s Swimming Club retained the Setts Memorial Trophy having once again comprehensively beaten the Nyngan Splashers in the annual swimming carnival on Sunday.

It’s the Cobar club’s 5th consecutive win of the event since its inception five years ago to honour the memory of past Cobar club president and Nyngan club member, Ian Settree.

The Splashers hosted this year’s carnival and started the morning off well with first and second placings in the 30 metres handicapped freestyle swim.

Cobar’s John Claus finished in third place.

Cobar swimmers then dominated the remainder of the carnival events.

In the 50 metres handicapped freestyle event Cobar swimmers finished in the top three placings with Paul Swainston first, Andrew Watts second and Lucas Hardy was third.

Cobar club president John Carswell led the field in the 100m swim with Swainston recording a third place.

By that stage Cobar had an 11-7 advantage and a win of the Brace Relay novelty event (worth six points) could have seen Nyngan steal the trophy, however Cobar triumphed and returned home on Sunday afternoon with the Setts Memorial Trophy once again in their care.