Nymagee’s win reaffirms long dominance in cricket

The Nymagee Magpies cricket team took control of Saturday’s 40 Overs grand final game against Empire from the outset and went on to record their 12th premiership win

Nymagee overwhelmed Empire to win the 40 Overs Senior Cricket competition premiership for the 12th time on Saturday.

Nymagee’s long dominance of the sport was reaffirmed on Saturday with their best bowling and fielding display for the season.

From the first over, when Empire’s Tom McKenna was removed, Nymagee looked to be on top.

The bowling, especially from Phil Harley and Travis Buckman, was compelling; rapid, accurate and with a hint of swing and fitting for a grand final game.

Nymagee had brought their best to the biggest match of the year.

Empire simply had no answer.

Although Empire had convincingly won the last time the two teams met, Saturday’s match was a very different game.

Empire were left reeling at 2/7 in the second over when Harley picked up his second important wicket, the dismissal of this year’s Paula Potter Player of the Year, Jay Egan for just five runs.

Empire’s captain Jake Harbison had to embark on a recovery operation when he came to the crease and just as it seemed they might compile a challenging target, Tarun Bheemireddy (9) was unlucky to be run out at the non-striker’s end when a straight drive from Harbison deflected off the right hand of Phil Harley onto the stumps.

Empire were 3/40 in the 11th over and soon 4/44 when Tadgh Waugh (2) was dismissed by James McClure.

Tristan Everett and Harbison shared in 27 run partnership for the 5th wicket before Player of the Match Travis Buckman, clean bowled Everett for three runs.

Harbison brought up his half century in the 19th over, then Buckman struck again in the last over before drinks dismissing Jed Noonan for a duck.

At the drinks break, Empire were 6/78.

Justin Kelly joined Harbison at the crease and the pair added 20 runs before Buckman struck again, bowling Kelly for six runs.

Dean King (2) came and went, bowled by Sean Bayliss and then finally the innings of Harbison came to end as he looked to up the scoring rate with only his tail-ender batsmen left.

Harbison went for a very well made 75 runs off the bowling of Buckman who took his 4th  wicket of the innings.

Bayliss claimed the final wicket and Empire were bowled out the 32nd over for 118 runs.

Needing 119 runs for victory, Nymagee only had to score at three runs per over.

Their game plan was to bat long and to not take any risks.

Nymagee were all but guided determinedly home by their opener Mitchell Holt.

Holt and fellow opener, Roger Mitchell, made a solid start putting on 49 runs for the first wicket before Mitchell was dismissed for 19 off the bowling of Ryan Urquhart.

Nymagee’s captain Jade Buckman joined Holt in the middle and pair took to score along to 71 before Jay Egan dismissed Buckman (7).

There was nothing flashy about the innings of Holt – he just wanted to get the job done.

Unfortunately, he fell adjudged LBW for 39 runs with Nymagee needing a further 24 runs for victory.

James McClure made a quick 14 runs before he was dismissed, and Nymagee were 4/106.

Phil Harley and Stephen Nicholson got the scores level and needed only one run for victory. Urquhart however trapped Nicholson in front for two runs and it was left to Matt Nicholson to come out and hit the winning runs.

Harley remained 17 not out.

It was fitting that the Nicholson brothers were there at the end as it was their 11th premiership win since 1990.

Gallery Cricket Finals