Long held showgirl tradition continues

Cobar Show 2017 Teen Showgirl Sarah McClure, Cobar Show Society president David Snelson and major sponsor Regional Australia Bank representatives Nathan Merchant and Kelly Fairbank were on hand on Friday night to sash this year’s Cobar Show Miss Showgirl winners Ruby Belle Stingemore (2018 Miss Teen Showgirl), Summer-Rose Stingemore (2018 Miss Showgirl) and Julieanna Barrett (2018 Miss Showgirl runner-up). Photo courtesy Klae McGuinness Photography

Once again Eva Halliger claimed the Lyle Boucher Memorial Trophy as the Most Successful Exhibitor in the Main Pavilion at this year’s Cobar Show.

Eva had wins in the Vegetables, Flowers, Floral Art and Jams and Preserves sections and took out the prizes for Champion Bloom of the Show, Champion Rose of the Show and Champion Red Rose of the Show and she also collected the Anne Evans Award for her efforts this year.

Main Pavilion steward Simonne Mackay said there were 1,035 entries this year.

Other Main Pavilion multiple winners this year were: Carol Pritchard—Fruit and Eggs and Cooking; Daphne Jermyn—Floral Art Novice and Nan Evan’s Memorial Prize.

In the Needlework section Julia McClure was the winner; Knitting & Crochet Professional—Kylie Harvey and Novice—Lyndsay Rook; Handicraft—Barry Simes; Patchwork & Applique Novice—Karen Watts and Professional—Sarah Cryer; Cross Stitch & Tapestry—Bridgette Jones; Scrapbooking & Card Making—Christina Gordon; Fine Arts Open—Jimmy Cockayne and Novice—Bev Anderson; Photography Novice—Narelle Green; Junior Cooking 13-18 years—Karla McCormack, 9-12 years—Mimi Clark, 6-8 years—Alexandria Hodges, 0-5 years—Eden Cavalot; Junior Floral Art 13-18 years—Samuel Whiteman, 9-12 years—Mikayla Bellette, 6-8 years—Izzy O’Hara, 0-5 years—Maxwell Bellette; Junior Craft 13-18 years—Laura Manns; 0-12 years—Tyler Clark; Junior Photography 13-18 years—Jeremy Theakston, 9-12 years—Mia O’Hara, 6-8 years—Elsie Myer-Ryan, 0-5 years—Josie Myer-Ryan; Junior Lego & Construction Kits 0-5 years—Joseph Theakston, 6-10 years—Joey Thomas, 11-14 years—Jeremy Theakston; Junior Fine Arts 13-18 years—Oscar Punzet, 9-12 years—Mimi Clark, 6-8 years—Isla McKervey, 0-5 years—Eden Cavalot; Excellence award—Eden Cavalot.

The Most Successful Junior Boy Exhibitor in the Main Pavilion was Tyler Clark and Most Successful Junior Girl Exhibitor was Mimi Clark.

The Jan Snelson Memorial Encouragement Awards went to Hugh Le Lievre and Hazel Rauahi.

Cobar Show’s Most Successful Exhibitor in the Main Pavilion Eva Halliger was presented the Lyle Boucher Memorial Trophy by Mrs Boucher’s great
granddaughter, Ashleigh Douglas. Photo courtesy of Klae McGuinness Photography

There were 18 entrants for this year’s Cobar Show Showgirl competition with Summer-Rose Stingemore sashed as the Cobar Show 2018 Miss Showgirl.

After seven hours of interviews and deliberations by the contest’s judges, the winners were announced on Friday night at the show with prizes presented by the competition sponsor, Regional Australia Bank’s representatives.

Runner-up to Summer-Rose was Julieanna Barrett while Ruby Belle Stingemore was named Miss Teen Showgirl.

The winners of the junior showgirl section were: Miss Confidence – Malina Bottom; Miss Personality – Andi-Rose Francisco; Miss Ambition – Natalie Lynch; Miss Creativity – Elosie Griffiths; Miss Rural Knowledge – Izzy O’Hara; Miss Local Knowledge – Rebecca Hibbett; Miss Community Involvement – Lexi Hodges; Miss Passionate – Cora McKervey; Miss Presentation – Gracie Harland; Miss Sporty – Ava Francisco; Miss Pavilion – Amara Bottom; Miss Wildlife – Mikayla Bellette; Miss Versatile – Rori Urquhart; Miss Speech & Dictation- Sosie Barton; and Miss Sophistication – Megan Giurin.