LLS board farewells local members

Western Local Land Services board chair Ben Barlow has farewelled retiring board members Marie Russell (Cobar) and Justin McClure (Tilpa) who have come to the end of their terms. Photo contributed

The Western Local Land Services board has farewelled two board members, locals Justin McClure and Marie Russell, who have come to the end of their terms.

Both Mr McClure of Tilpa and Ms Russell, a Cobar area grazier, made outstanding contributions to the organisation since they were first appointed to the board in 2014.

While their contributions will be missed, the board is however pleased to welcome Rebecca Bunyan and Felicity McLeod who are both highly qualified individuals.

The board, which is responsible for the strategic direction of Western Local Land Services, is made up of eight members plus a chair, with members spread all over the western region with a range of backgrounds, skills and experiences.

Ms Bunyan, from Booligal, has a background in workforce and organisational development, primarily in government and non-government sectors such as health, education and emergency management.

She currently works on a contract basis in similar areas from her husband’s family merino property, “Daisy Plains” and has a young son.

Ms McLeod lives and works on “Tor Downs”, one of her family’s stations between Wentworth and Broken Hill and is passionate about the Far West, being involved with the NSW Farmers on its Goat Committee, Western Division Council and is an Executive Councillor for the Western Division.

With an interest in both red meat and wool, Ms McLeod won a Nuffield Farming Scholarship in 2017 to travel globally.

The current members of the Western Local Land Services Board are: Cobar farmer Andrew Mosely, Ben Barlow (Chair), Magnus Aitken, Nicole Byrnes, Rebecca Bunyan, Felicity McLeod, Neill Leigo, Kate McBride and Rob Wason.