Chris Gilbert wins his second men’s golf Cobar Open title

Garry Wilkin (A Grade 9 Hole Scratch winner), Chris Gilbert (A Grade 27 Hole Scratch Cobar Open winner) Derek Beehan (A Grade 27 Hole Net runner-up) and Jay Egan during the Atlas Copco Men’s Golf Open on Sunday.

After a short lapse in concentration over two holes, Chris Gilbert bounced back to claim his second Cobar Open men’s golf title on Sunday.

Gilbert, who previously won the title in 2014, scored 111 to win the A Grade 27 Hole Scratch event four shots ahead of runner-up Tristan Rex (115).

This year’s Atlas Copco Cobar Open attracted a smaller field than usual with just 42 golfers teeing off. It included a number of local players along with golfers from Wanaaring, Trangie, Albury/Wodonga, Brewarrina, Bourke, Narromine and Orange.

Other A Grade winners were: Alec Fraser— 27 Hole Net winner, Derek Beehan—runner-up; Chris Dennis—18 Hole Scratch, Bruce Bennett—r/up; Bill Fugar—18 Net, James Gaffney—r/up; Garry Wilkin—9 Hole Scratch, Morris Sullivan—r/up.

In B Grade Tadgh Waugh was the 27 Hole Scratch winner with Deon Heyns finishing as the runner-up. Other B Grade winners were: Angus Waugh—27 Hole Net, Mark Fraser—r/up; Mick Bannister—18 Hole Scratch, Darryn Lord—r/up; Michael McKean—18 Hole Net,  Marc Quinn—r/up; Stewart Fraser—9 Hole Scratch, Phil Gilligan—r/up.

In C Grade Glen Ratcliffe won the 27 Hole Scratch title ahead of Rob McCutcheon and Greg Clark was the 27 Hole Net winner over Wayne Martin.

Other C Grade winners were Wanaaring visitor P Taylor—18 Hole Scratch, Tim Montgomery—r/up; Trangie’s Geoff Smith—18 Hole Net, Robbie Cummins—r/up; David Gordon—9 Hole Scratch, S McDougal—r/up.

Alan Sharpe was the Vet 27 Holes Scratch champion. The winners of the Longest Drive prizes were: A Grade—James Gaffney; B Grade—Tadgh Waugh; and C Grade—Robbie Cummins.

On Saturday the Herford Cup was contested and a count back was needed to find a winner with Darryn Lord and Garry Wilkin on +9 eventually declared the winners over Stewart Fraser and Mark Fraser (also on +9).

Geoff Dunne and Peter Brien came in 3rd.

Jay Egan and Chris Gilbert, also on +9,  were the Scratch competition winners.

Nearest the Pin winners were Garry Wilkin on the 8th hole and Orange visitor Robbie Clark on the 15th.—Info from The Hooker