CATS celebrate one of their most successful seasons

Cobar Athletics & Triathlon Squad (CATS) president Greg McKervey with two of the
2021/2022 season prize winners, Axel Fairfull and Thomas Summerhayes, last
Wednesday night at the club’s presentations at the Golfie. ▪ Photo contributed

The Cobar Athletics & Triathlon Squad
(CATS) Club held their end of season
presentations last Wednesday at the Cobar
Bowling & Golf Club.

Club president Greg McKervey reports the
2021/2022 season had been a very successful
“In total we had 70 different competitors take
part,” McKervey reported.
“We extended the Tri-a-Tri from one event a
year to a monthly part of the Triathlon.
“This proved to be a successful move and
encouraged some younger athletes to take part.
“We also brought back the Duathlon for two
Named in the club’s ‘Dream Team’ for the
best times this season in the Short Course
(300m swim/ 10km ride/ 2km run) were Lucas
Hardy—swim 5 minutes, 10 seconds, Isaac
Theakston—ride 20.05 and Findlay Robinson—
run 8.05.
The Long Course (500m swim/ 20km ride/
4km run) season’s best ‘Dream Team’ were
Axel Fairfull—swim 8.24, Findlay Robinson—
ride 37.03; and Nauman Faisal—run 17.43.
In the Juniors, Claire Cousins improved her
time by three minutes over her three events;
Skylar Fairfull shaved two minutes off her
time this season; Harry Cousins competed in
two events with 53 mins his fastest time; and
Axel Fairfull competed in four events with his
best short course time 36.04 and also three
long course events with his best time of
1.07.16 recorded in April 2022.
The season’s Most Improved competitor was
Tom Summerhayes who had an overall improvement
of four minutes with Isaac Theakston
finished this season with a sub 36 minutes
time improving on his 39 from last season.
Findlay Robinson set two records over the
season including the long course record of
1.02.50 and the short course record 33.27 to be
the top performing Male competitor of the
Isaac Theakston was consistently in the top
two finishers this season and competed in all
but one event. He had a best short course time
this season of 35.54.
Of the female competitors this season, Hannah
Young recorded the best female times in
the two events she competed in this season
which included a course record in the long
course of 1.10.53 and also a short course record
of 39.33.
The club’s annual general meeting followed
the presentations with McKervey returned as
president and Zach Finn as vice president.
Also returned to his treasurer’s role was
Chris Powell while McKervey has taken over
the secretary’s role from Zoë Egan.
Abby and Axel Fairfull, Bianka Jacobson
and Thomas Summerhayes were elected to the
general committee.