The Golfie backs all its sporting bodies

The Cobar Lady Golfers were well represented at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club’s Sporting Bodies Presentation Dinner on Saturday night.

The Cobar Bowling & Golf Club celebrated achievements over the past year on the links, greens, ovals and pools at the Club’s Sportsman’s Dinner on Saturday night.

Club president Jim Goonrey said it had been another good year for the Golfie who had been well represented in 2019 in golf, bowls, swimming, rugby league, cricket and darts.

“A tally shows the club has spent over $50,000 on our sporting organisations this year,” Goonrey said.

While a number of the sporting clubs had already held their end of year presentations, the Sportsman’s Dinner was an opportunity for all of the Golfie-sponsored organisations to come together and share their achievements over the past season.

The Lady Golfers soldiered on last season with the local golf course not at its best due to the ongoing drought.

The season’s winners were: A Grade Scratch winner—Jenny Stephenson; A Grade Net—Fay Hardwick; B Grade Scratch—Brenda Fugar; B Grade Net—Pat Polack; C Grade Scratch—Tina Gordon and C Grade Net—Alma Rogers.

The Foursomes Champions were Geraldine Francisco and Sally Bannister with the Foursomes Net title won by Ann Dunn and Pam Sikora.

Sally Bannister was the Match Play winner.

The Vets Country Champions were: Division 1—Narelle Kriz; Division 2—Marlene Wynd; Division 3—Sue Phillips; and Senior Vet—Pat Polack.

Margaret Good from the Golfie Lady bowlers club reported that things were looking up in their sport following the recruitment of a few more players this season which will enable them to once again run a Fours Championship tournament.

The 2019 Triples Champions were Marlene Wynd, Shine McIver and Ev Hyde with the Pairs Champions trophy claimed by Sandra Zazoniuk and Margaret Good. Good backed up on last year’s Singles title success to win the Singles trophy again this season.

The Men Bowlers reported a good season was had and included trips to tournaments in Hillston, Blacktown and Hay.

The men’s 2019 Fours champions were Daniel Holt, Jim Goonrey, John Goonrey and Dean McLeod and the Triples crown went to Greg Read, Alan Knight and David Knight.

The father and son team of Don Roberts and Kyle Roberts won the Pairs title and Daniel Holt was the Singles winner.

The Cobar Yabbies Senior Men’s Swimming Club secretary Bob Clark reports the club was “very, very successful” at the 2019 National AIF Swimming Championships with Bill Fugar the 50m Handicap winner from a field of 280 swimmers and the Cobar team won the Six Man Scratch Relay event.

Fugar finished the 2018/2019 season as the Pointscore winner; the Yabbies won the 10 Man Relay at the 2019 Five Ways Swim; picked up the Setts Memorial Trophy for the 5th consecutive time and their members also collected a number of trophies at the recent Western Districts AIF Carnival.

Men’s Golf captain Peter ‘China’ Brien presented the Men’s Golf 2019 season awards at Saturday night’s dinner.

The 2019 Club Champions were: A Grade—Jacob Ryan; B Grade—Jason Foster; and C Grade—Sam Kershaw.

The Foursomes Champions were Garry Wilkin and Jacob Ryan (A Grade), Geoff Dunne and Peter Lawrence (B Grade) and Geoff Rorke and David Gordon (C Grade).

The Mixed Foursomes winners were Jacob Ryan and Chrissy Gilligan with Mick and Sally Bannister the runners-up.

The Captain’s Trophy winner was Stewart Fraser and the Nearest the Pin competition winner was Max Phillips.

The Medal of Medals competition was won by Greg Clark with the 2019 Bill Bartlett Memorial Match Play trophy going to Phil Gilligan with Garry Wilkin the runner-up.

Some of the winners of the 2014 Men’s Golf and Mixed Golf competitions at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club’s Sportsman’s Dinner Presentations on Saturday: Sam Kershaw
(C Grade Club Champion); Garry Wilkin (A Grade Foursomes Champion and runner-up in the Bill Bartlett Memorial Match Play competition); David Gordon (C Grade
Foursomes Champion) and the husband and wife team of Mick and Sally Bannister who were the runners-up in the Mixed Foursomes competition.