Jaxon was a marked man

The St Johns defenders had Cobar’s Jaxon Burke as a marked man in Saturday’s Under 14s junior rugby league game at Tom Knight Memorial Oval. The visitors made sure not to give Jaxon any room to move each time he got the ball. On this occasion when the Roosters hit the try line, they did go close to scoring but St Johns’ defence held tight. See Page 26 for game report.

out of the 2022 Dubbo & District Junior Rugby League competition at Tom Knight Memorial Oval on Saturday.
The Roosters hosted six St John’s teams for plenty of great rugby league action with the visitors finishing as victors of four of the five scored matches.
Cobar’s Under 12s finished with a 20-12 victory in their game with St Johns Blue.
Rowdy Barton touched down for two tries for the Roosters with Billy George and Lach-lan Brookman also scoring.
All four tries were converted with Ryder Anderson, Cohan Nicholson, Rowdy Barton and Clay McDonald responsible for their goals.
The Players Player award went to Clay McDonald while Rowdy Barton collected the Coaches Award.
The Under 16s match was an absolute ripper of a game with the Roosters leading for most of the match. Their lead however was snatched away in the last two minutes by the visitors who finished with a thrilling 28-24 win.
Cobar tries came from Nathan Bartlett, Kai Taylor, Tahj Foley and Jaxon Burke (2) with Tahj Foley and Tadhg McMullen responsible for their goals.
The Players Player was Joe Webster with the Coaches Award going to Tahj Foley.
The Roosters Under 10s went down to St Johns Blue 52-4 with Cobar’s lone try record-ed by Eligh Ritter.
Ruby Reid was named the Players Player and the Coaches Award was earned by Eligh Ritter.
The Under 11s game against St Johns Ma-roon was a high scoring affair with the visitors finishing as 44-18 victors.
Talas Burke, Jaxon Waugh and George McDonald were Cobar’s try scorers with goals kicked by Temiloluwa Adesina, Jaxon Waugh and George McDonald.
The Players Player was George McDon-ald and Talas Burke collected the Coaches Award.
St John’s were big 46-0 winners in the Under 14s game.
Cobar’s Players Player was Henry Rogers with the Coaches Award going to Kai McCosker.
In the Under 9s game, which is not scored, Cobar’s Players Player was George Wainqolo with Taj Goonrey earning the Coaches Award.
In Sunday’s Mini League games, the Under 6 awards went to Nixon Shields and Murph El-lison while the Under 8 awards were collected by Liam Cain, Rosie George, Keelan Atuau and Max Ellison.