High achieving students recognised

Cobar High School Year 10 student Abby Carswell and Year 12 student Jye Robinson were winners of the 2017 All Rounder school awards

Cobar High School paid tribute to its high achieving students last week at the school’s end of year presentation day.

Acting principal Shane Carter said many fantastic achievements had been made by students this year in both the academic and sporting fields.

This year’s perpetual award winners included: 2017 Dux—Jessica Nicholson; Anita Salter nee Winders Memorial Award for Outstanding Participation in Sport—Chad Buckman; Orana Law Society Award for Excellence in Legal Studies—Stephanie Mitchell; Australian Defence Force Long Tan Leadership & Teamwork Awards—Year 10 Abby Carswell and Year 12—Jye Robinson; AM Burgess Scholarships—Kelly Archer and Brandy Shephard; SRC Award for Contribution and Effort—Abby Carswell; JKM Dynamic Fitness Award for Citizenship—Owen Potter and Emily Carswell; Bill Venner Memorial Award for History—Summer Rose Stingemore; Year 12, 1995 Award for Consistency and Participation—Jack Obray; Kath Miles Memorial Award for Cooperation and Service—Thomas Jones; Reuben F Scarf Award for Commitment—Connor McLeod; CHS Ex Student Award for Achievement—Robert Grant; Victor Chang Cardiac Institute Research Science Award—Julieanna Barrett; 1988 Year 12 Award for All Rounder in Junior School—Abby Carswell; and Caltex All Rounder in Senior School—Jye Robinson.

Cobar High School acting principal Shane Carter described 2017 as an “eventful year” at the presentation day.

Acting principal Shane Carter with this year’s Dux Award winner Jessica Nicholson.

Mr Carter said the students should be proud of themselves and that they had in particular highlighted the school’s value of excellence.

In addition to the school’s perpetual awards, Principal’s Awards, Attendance Awards, Premier’s Reading Challenge Awards, Sports Awards, Academic Performance Awards and Encouragement Awards were handed out to various students from Years 7 to 12.

President of Cobar High School P&C Mary Urquhart presenting Thomas Jones with the Kath Miles Memorial Award for Cooperation and Service at the school’s annual
presentation day ceremony last Wednesday.

High Academic Achievement awards were presented to students in each year and included: Year 7—Chad Buckman, Lexie Traynor, Bridie Bruce, Raymond Jones and Ruby-Belle Stingemore; Year 8—Mitchell Chaplain, Katherine Lancaster, Thomas Bradley and Jacob Clark; Year 9—Thomas Tidsley, Juliet Awuku, Riley Bellotti, Georgie Buckman, Anika Koller, Madasan Taylor and Bridgette Gracie; Year 10—Robert Grant, Ryan Anderson, Benjamin Anderson, Darragh McMullen, Lauren Urquhart, Pheonix Webster, Kelly Archer, Sandie Mitchell, Emma Neve, Liam Richardson, Andrew Roberts, Angela Shepherd and Laine Ellicott; Year 11—Julieanna Barrett, Emma Bradley, Hannah Kriz, Summer Rose Stingemore, Lara Mitchell, Kane Buckman, Sidney Colling, Brooke Daly, Gracie Dowling-Allan, Makaila Gordon, Luke Grey, Alice Potter and Wyatt Proudlove.