Big field of local and interstate players contest Darts Open

Local darts player Kylie Tiffen (at right) teamed up with South Australian player Caroline Dart to win the Ladies Doubles title at the 2019 Cobar Darts Open at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club on Saturday. ▪ Photo contributed

The 2019 Cobar Darts Open tournament kicked off Friday night with the Y-NOT Line Marking blind drawn doubles event.

There were 17 teams competing with Jeremy Jackson (NSW) and Brayden Sterling (NSW) along with Monika Sayed (NSW) and Dean Mayne (SA) finishing as the winners.

The men’s and ladies’ doubles competition was contested on Saturday.

Seven teams competed in the Ladies Doubles with Kylie Tiffen (Cobar) and Caroline Dart (SA) teaming up to win from Samantha Throup (NSW) and Rhiannon Kerr (NSW).

There were 13 teams for the Men’s Doubles event with Brayden Sterling (SA) and John Nottage (SA) claiming the win over runners-up Brenden Porter (NSW) and Jeremy Jackson (NSW).

The Men’s and Ladies Singles titles were decided on Sunday with 10 players registered for the Ladies event while 24 contested the Men’s title.

Karen Fridd (SA) claimed the Ladies’ Singles title with Steve Motton (NSW) the Men’s Singles winner.

Rhiannon Kerr (NSW) was the Ladies’ Singles runner-up and Aaron Parmenter (SA) was the Men’s Singles runner-up.