Visitors take home Cobar Darts Open cash

Muswellbrook’s Brendan Porter and Scott Bretherton beat South Australia’s Tim Mitchell and Ray O’Donnell in the 2017 Cobar Darts Open Men’s Doubles competition on Saturday at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club. This year’s open attracted 56 players.

The 2017 Cobar Darts Open was contested over the weekend at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club with a strong contingent of visitors lining up alongside locals to contest blind drawn doubles, men’s and women’s doubles and men’s and women’s singles events.

In the field of 56 players, Cobar’s Alex Bianchina and Craig Jones and Tony Brown (with partner Greg Kroehnard) just missed out on a place in the doubles final on Saturday while Paul Cohen (and partner Graeme Fridd) also finished in the top eight.

Muswellbrook visitors Scott Bretherton and Brendon Porter beat South Australian players Tim Mitchell and Ray O’Donnell in the Men’s Doubles final.

In the Ladies doubles, Cobar’s  Latisha Bennett and Mescal Nicholls finished in third place with Jenny Duggan (Dubbo) and  Amanda Stone (Broken Hill) finishing as the winners. They beat Rhiannon Kerr (Muswellbrook) and Elisabeth Medhurst (Aberdeen) in the final.

The Men’s Major and Minor Singles along with the Ladies Singles games were played on Saturday.

Ray O’Donnell won the Men’s Major Singles title from a field of 28 players with Craig Jones finishing third, Tony Brown was 5th and Alex Bianchina was 7th.

Jenny Duggan added the Ladies Singles title to her doubles title after she beat her doubles team mate Amanda Stone in the Singles grand final on Sunday.

The Men’s Minor Singles had 10 players with visitor Charles O’Neil the winner over Allan Flood.

There were plenty of 180s thrown over the weekend including: John Nottage (5 times), Ray O’Donnell (3), Tony Lovedee (2), Scott Bretherton (2), Craig Jones (2), Paul Cohen (2) as well as Tony Brown, Brendon Porter, Dean Mayne, Matt Price, Jeremy Jackson, Jenny Duggan, Rhiannon Kerr, and Charles O’Neil (all with one each).

In the local darts competition played last Wednesday night, RSL Outlaws beat Western Benchwarmers 7-4; Golfie Razorbacks just won over Grand Free Spirits 6-5; Golfie Spearchuckers got the nod over Empire Barflies winning 6-5; and Golfie Gophers were too good for Western 180s winning 8-3.

Hundreds and high scores were recorded by: Western Benchwarmers—Dean Hodges 105, Jono Williams 121 and Tadgh Waugh 121; Empire Barflies—Rodney Coleman 100, Craig Jones 100, Andrew Buckman 100 and Alex Bianchina 140; RSL Outlaws—Kent Lally 100, James Ware 100 and George Greer 100, 100, 109, 100, 107; Golfie Spearchuckers—Brett Miller 100, 100, Bian Smith 100, 100, 140, 115, Sharon Bishop 150 and Erica Chambers 114; Golfie Razorbacks—Paul Cohen 100, Rena Clements 100 and Linda Fridd 140; Grand Free Spirits—Darren Myer 101 and Lesley Jones 100; Golfie Gophers—Chris Hooker 100, Samantha Hooker 100, Les Hooker 101 and Matt Bennett 100, 124.