Scott Toomey cleans up at this year’s Yabbies presentations

The Cobar Yabbies 2017/2018 season trophy winners: Jamie Roberts, Bill Fugar, Scott Toomey (Club Champion), Stephen Clark, Bob Clark and Doug Rorke.

Scott Toomey cleaned up at the Cobar Yabbies Senior Men’s Swimming Club   2017/2018 season presentations on Friday night at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club.

Toomey won four of the eight major trophies on offer including the Overall Club Champion Curly Solomon Point Score Shield.

Toomey finished the season with a total of 241 points well ahead of runner-up Murray Harland with 208 and third placed Bill Fugar on 195.

Toomey won the 50 metres Russell Harland Memorial Shield after finishing the season with a tally of 81 points.

Murray Harland was second with 74 and John Carswell (67) was back in third place.

Toomey took the 100 metres Phil Knucky Memorial Shield after finishing that class with 102 points.

He was well ahead of his nearest rivals, Murray Harland on 69 and John Carswell on 59.

Toomey also cinched the Ian Settree Memorial One Night Stand award after recording the best time over three events (30m, 50m and 100m) in one night.

Toomey recorded a total of 0.38 seconds off his nominated time (and ironically it was achieved on the club’s final night of competition).

Ben Plush was the runner-up with 0.45 and Bill Fugar was third on 0.48.

Over the season 14 swimmers had recorded times under one second with Bob Clark the most consistent, recording sub one second times on six occasions.

Bill Fugar, who claimed the 30 metres handicapped National Title at Nelson Bay in March, also claimed the club title this season.

Fugar had 73 points in this class with Murray Harland (again second) with 65 and Scott Toomey was relegated to third place with 58 points.

The season’s Most Improved swimmer was Jamie Roberts while Doug Rorke collected the Brush Award as the club’s “most memorable tourist”.

Club president John Carswell said it had been another great season for the Yabbies.

He said the highlights of the season had been the Yabbies Club wins in the 10 Man Relay at the Five Ways Carnival and also at the Western Districts event along with Bill Fugar’s 30 metres handicap title win at the Nationals (which was the second successive year the club had won this trophy, with Trevor Menadue previously winning the 30m National title in 2016/2017).