Ryan wins third Cobar Open golf title

For the third time local golfer Jacob Ryan has won the Cobar Men’s Golf Open. Jacob is pictured at centre at Sunday’s presentations with Epiroc sponsor Alan Sharpe and Men’s Golf Captain, Peter Brien. Photo contributed

For the second successive year Jacob Ryan has claimed the Cobar Men’s Golf Open title.

Ryan won the 27 hole Stroke event sponsored by Epiroc on Sunday ahead of Narromine’s Tony Harding.

It’s the third time Ryan has won the Cobar Open having also claimed the title in 2015.

(He missed out in 2016 as the event was washed out.)

Local players also featured in the Net competition on Sunday with Jay Egan the winner ahead of Chris Gilbert.

Bill Fugar was the B Grade winner with Bruce Mitchell from Narromine the runner-up.

The B Grade Nett winner was Bendigo’s Aidrian Eiffert with Natt Cahill from Hillston the runner-up.

In C Grade, Hillston’s Ryan Duryea took the title from Trangie’s Luke Hoey.

Nearest the Pin winners were: A Grade—Harding; B Grade—Matt Hunter; and C Grade—Robbie Cummins.

Longest Drives winners were: A Grade—Garry Wilkin; B Grade—Mick McKean (Narromine); C Grade Duryea.

The Best Veteran over 18 Holes was Robbie Cummins.

Western Districts Golf Association Best 18 Holes Score for a Visitor was recorded by Eiffert.

On Saturday the Epiroc sponsored Herford Cup was played as a Four-Ball-Best-Ball versus Par competition with Alec Fraser and Garry Wilkin finishing as the winners.

Phil Gilligan and visitor G Holland teamed up to claim second place.

Jacob Ryan and Gary Dunn were the Scratch winners.

Nearest the Pin prizes were won on the 3rd hole by Bruce Mitchell (Narromine); on the 7th Steve Manns; and on the 8th and 15th holes Aidrian Eiffert (Bendigo).

Today’s game will be a Stableford.

The third round of the Captain’s Trophy competition will be played on Saturday as a MTD Stroke event.

Sunday’s game is a Four-Ball-Worst-Ball. Stableford.—This article has been compiled with information supplied by The Hooker