Noonan leads Toothless to a 43 run win

Ruthless Toothless, led by Jed Noonan, smashed Tilpa by 43 runs in Friday night’s Twenty20 grand final to win their first T20 cricket competition title.

Noonan was in devestating form, belting 35 runs, including four sixes off the last four balls of the innings, to finish not out.

And he took two wickets.

After Toothless elected to bat, Tilpa did well to contain them for the most part by taking wickets at regular intervals.

In the 5th over Toothless found themselves in early trouble with the score at 3/20 after losing Mat Shepherd (6), Edward Paul (3) and Patrick Harris (2).

Ryan Urquhart and Tristan Everett then combined to take the score along to 51 before Urquhart was out for 25.

Everett and David Watson took the score along to 77 before Everett was dismissed with the top score of 36 runs off 26 balls.

Watson was dismissed shortly after for four and Chris Deighton (1) came and went leaving Toothless reeling at 7/84 in the 15th over.

Tilpa were on top, and it looked as though Toothless would be bowled out for under 100 runs.

Enter Jed Noonan!

After seeing a few sighters, Noonan teed off in the final over of the innings, hitting Rhys Lloyd for 27 runs, including four sixes in a row!

Noonan finished not out with 35 off 15 balls, helping Toothless to 7/131 from their 20 overs.

Tony Polack returned the best bowling figures for Tilpa, taking 2/10 off three overs.

Totals of 120-130 have been the par score in the T20 competition this season with the slow Ward Oval outfield.

momentum appeared to be with Toothless as the two teams walked off for the innings break.

In reply, Tilpa’s run chase was dealt an early blow losing season openerJosh Brown for a duck with the score on four.

Fred McClure and James McClure took Tilpa along to 33 before Tilpa’s innings fell apart. They lost seven wickets for 49 runs.

Fred fell for 22, James (8), Mitch Holt (13), Tony Polack (8), Rohan Simpson (0), Shaun Bayliss (5) and Damian Wray (0).

Rhys Lloyd top-scored with 23 not out and Tilpa finished their 20 overs with 8/88.

Noonan was the best of the bowlers taking 2/10 off his four overs and Paul finished with 2/20 off three overs.