Cobar Preschool welcomes new committee

The Cobar Preschool, a community owned children’s service, has welcomed a new committee after a special meeting was held last Tuesday.

Heath Budd was newly elected as president with Paige Wilson the group’s new vice president.

Summer Patterson was elected to the treasurer’s position while Wendy Marshall was returned as secretary.

The executive committee is also supported by six general committee members.

Mr Budd said the new committee will stand until the school’s next annual general meeting in 2016 where all positions will be declared vacant again.

He said they will initially be focusing on revising the constitution and making sure it is up-to-date with current Education and Care Services National Regulations legislation.

Mr Budd said appointing a new director is also a major priority for the committee.

“The position will be re-advertised and all previous applicants are encouraged to re-apply, the new committee will effectively re-start the recruitment process from scratch.

“Given we are approaching school holidays, we do have ‘some’ time and are reasonably confident, with the information we have at hand, that we will be able to find a new director,” Mr Budd said.

The outgoing and incoming committee members have acknowledged departing director Racquel Potter for her efforts over the past 13 years.

“Her hard work and dedication to the school has seen it become a highly sought after educational facility in town,” Mr Budd said.

He also acknowledged the efforts of outgoing committee members Bec Cain and Shel Parisi for the work they have done and said the new committee will be working closely with the pair in the coming months to ensure there is a smooth handover.