Yabbies retain their 10 Man title

The successful Cobar Yabbies relay team that won the 10 Man Relay title at the AIF Western Districts Swimming Carnival on Sunday in Dubbo. Photo contributed

The Cobar Yabbies Senior Men’s Swimming Club took a quality contingent of swimmers to the annual Australian Infantry Forces (AIF) Western Districts Swimming Carnival on the weekend and returned with plenty of silverware.

Hosted this year by Dubbo, the Cobar team came home with four major trophies including the 10 Man Relay prize.

Shane Josephson won the 30 metres handicapped freestyle swim with John Carswell making it to the finals.

Carswell had a podium finish in the Presidents Race finishing third.

Jamie Roberts claimed second place in 50m handicapped freestyle swim with Murray Harland, Bill Fugar and Paul Swainston all making the finals.

Harland finished second in the 100m handicapped freestyle swim with Bob Clark and  Bill Fugar also making the finals.

The Cobar team of Scott Toomey, Fugar, Roberts and Swainston won the four man Scratch relay.

Yabbies Bob Clark, Stephen Clark, Josephson and Andrew Watts finished second in the 200 Years Plus Relay with Cobar’s Colin ‘Butch’ Eves part of the Forbes winning side.

Cobar swimmers Greg Dimond, Doug Rorke and Swainston again joined Forbes swimmers to win the 6x50m Service Relay.

Cobar won the 10 Man Handicapped Relay with the team of Toomey, Carswell, Josephson, Dimond, Rorke, Bob and Stephen Clark, Watts, Fugar and Harland.

At last Tuesday’s weekly competition swim Paul Swainston was the man in the spotlight after he recorded a spot-on swim in the 50 metres handicapped freestyle event.

After running second last week in the 30m swim, Bob Clark’s repeat performance of swimming to within 0.03 seconds of his nominated time, was good enough to win the event on Tuesday night.

Stephen Clark was well ahead of the field in the 100m swim finishing within 0.13 seconds of his time.

Tuesday’s Brace Relay novelty event involved picking up a coin from off the bottom of the pool. Plush and Fugar had the best estimated time and completed the task in just 0.81 seconds off their nominated time.

Second was the team of Chris Powell and  Swainston (1.31) and Murray and Matt Harland finished in third place on 1.44.