Yabbies come third at the Nationals

The Yabbies were well represented at the 88th AIF Annual Swimming Championships with 20 members making the trip to Southport on the weekend. ▪ Photo contributed

The Yabbies have returned from the 88th AIF Annual Swimming Championships after an amazing effort in the pool.

Cobar came third in the overall point score, a fantastic performance for a small bush club competing against traditional swimming meccas including Southport, Bondi, Manly, Bronte and Coogee.

Twenty Yabbies travelled to Queensland last weekend for the national championships, hosted by the Southport Sharks, winning the Bill Lough Trophy as the handicap point score winners and producing many great individual performances, including individual championship wins from Dave Mexted and Owen Small.

Paul Swainston, John Carswell, John Claus and Mexted combined to take out the Gosford Trophy (35-59 years) 4×50 relay, at 0.15 of a second off their nominated time. This is the first time the club has won this event.

Also for the first time, four Yabbies athletes reached the final of the same event, the 50m freestyle handicap.

Paul Swainston, Shane Josephson, John Carswell and Stephen Clark all made the final from an initial field of over 300 swimmers.

Clark placed third, 0.25 off his nominated time…Full report in this week’s edition out now!