Cobar Shire’s new council sworn in

Cobar’s mayor Peter Abbott and deputy mayor, Jarrod Marsden, will continue in their roles for the next two years after the mayor and deputy mayor positions were uncontested at last week’s Ordinary Council Meeting. Following the swearing-in of the new council of 11 last Thursday, Cr Abbott and Cr Marsden […]


ANZAC spirit is very much alive

Cobar RSL Sub Branch president Kain Neale said it was evident the ANZAC spirit is still very much alive and well after a good crowd turned out for the local Anzac Day commemoration events in Cobar on Sunday. In addition to a large contingent of locals marching this year, a […]

No Picture
Local News

Three new faces join the council

Janine Lea-Barrett, Julie Payne and Christopher Lehmann are Cobar Shire Council’s newest councillors after Local Government election counting was finalised by the NSW Electoral Commission last Wednesday. The trio will join re-elected councillors Lilliane Brady, Peter Abbott, Peter Yench, Peter Maxwell, Harley Toomey, Greg Martin, Tracey Kings, Jarrod Marsden and […]

No Picture

Mayor calls on Cobar to celebrate “us”

The Cobar community has rallied in the face of tough times, planning a number of events and assistance measures to help the town in the wake of potentially devastating redundancies at Endeavor Mine. Mayor Lilliane Brady is at the forefront of the effort to “cheer up” the town, organising a […]