Rugby League club celebrates a brilliant season

The Cobar Senior Rugby League Club had plenty to celebrate at their end of season presentations on Friday night at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club. Pictured above are the club’s Representative Players of the Season, Lisa Travis (Western Rams and Castlereagh League Tag), Jenna Fullagar (Castlereagh League Tag) and Zoë Harland (Castlereagh League Tag) with special guest former NRL Manly, West Tigers and Northern Eagles player, John Hopoate.  ▪ Photo courtesy of Klae McGuinness Photography

The Cobar Rugby League Club celebrated one of its most successful seasons in recent memory with end of season presentations at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club on Friday night.

Players, committee, sponsors and supporters had plenty to celebrate this season with the Under 18s winning their first premiership in the Barwon Darling competition (it’s been 27 years since the juniors had won a title), the Ladies League Tag team also won the 2017 premiership while the First Grade side finished in third place which was, all in all, a very successful season for the club.

The club’s team captains, First Grade’s Tim Hillam, League Tag’s Zoë Harland and Under 18s co-captains Marty Turton and Wyatt Proudlove led by example this year and collected a number of the major awards.

Hillam was named First Grade’s Best Back, shared the Players’ Player of the Season award with Tom McBride, scored the Most Tries of the season with 22 and also collected the Highest Pointscorer perpetual trophy after finishing the season with a tally of 90 points (22 tries and one goal).

Harland was named League Tag’s Most Dedicated Player, was voted the team’s Players’ Player and also the Roosterettes Best and Fairest Player of the Season.

Harland shared the Most Dedicated Player perpetual club trophy with Proudlove and was  recognised for her representative duties this season with the Castlereagh League Tag team.

Turton was named as the Under 18s Best Forward, the team’s Best and Fairest Player of the season and collected the perpetual trophy as the club’s Most Consistent Forward.

Turton also collected the Overall Club Best and Fairest honour.

Proudlove shared the Under 18s Players’ Player of the season honours with Henry Brookman, the Most Dedicated Player honour with Zoë Harland and also the Robb Gilligan Memorial Junior Clubman of the year perpetual trophy with Patrick Hallcroft.

The club recognised their three representative players of the season with Lisa Travis, Zoe Harland and Jenna Fullagar selected to play in the Castlereagh League Tag side and from there Travis was selected into the Western Rams Ladies’ League Tag team.

Other First Grade players to receive awards included Tom McBride who was named the side’s Best Forward, the team’s Best and Fairest Player of the Season, and shared the Players’ Player title. The First Grade Coach’s Award went to Sam Baker.

Kasey Egan collected the Coach’s Award for League Tag and was also named the club’s Most Improved Footballer of the Season.

Bianka Jacobson was League Tag’s Most Consistent player of the season and also the club’s Most Consistent Player.

In the Juniors competition, the Coach’s Award went to Patrick Hallcroft and Hallcroft also shared the Robb Gilligan Memorial Junior Clubman of the year honour. The Under 18s Best Back was Jay Ellison and Ellison also shared the Player with the Most Potential Award with League Tag’s Tyler Chiswick.

Jedd Noonan was the club’s Rookie of the Year. The club’s Most Consistent Backs this year were Henry Brookman (Under 18s) and Jenna Fullagar (League Tag).

The Tom Knight Memorial Clubman of the Year was the committee’s hard working secretary Elodie Manns.