Rodeo action returns to Cobar

The Cobar Rodeo committee was very pleased with the turn out of 66 quality competitors and the good stock provided by Nakadoo Rodeo Company for Saturday’s Sullivan’s Mining & Hardware Rough Stock Rodeo. Combined with lots of local sponsorship and a good crowd of spectators, it all made for a very
successful event. “We’ll be doing it again next year,” rodeo president David ‘Crockett’ Brown said.
Pictured above is Casey Crawley who finished second in the Open Bull Ride to Gerard Oversby.

With over $15,000 prizemoney on offer, the Sullivan’s Mining & Hardware Rough Stock Rodeo on Saturday attracted a quality field of 66 competitors competing in 12 events.

Among the cowboys and cowgirls competing at this year’s Cobar Rodeo was five times ABCRA (Australian Bushmen’s Campdraft and Rodeo Association) Australian Champion, Bianca Hertel from Coonamble, who won the Ladies Barrel Race on Saturday with her horse Cash in a blistering time of 16.787 seconds.

Tamworth’s Katina Matthews (on board Traditional Neferfiti) was second with 17.004 seconds.

Local entrant Bethany Gudgeon was just off the pace recording a very good time of 19.45 seconds to finish just out of the top five.

Mark Redmond and Josh Barnett tied for first place in the Open Saddle Bronc event with each winning $1,072 for their rides.

Dee Heinemann took home $1,400 in prizemoney for his 74 points winning ride on Bad deal in the Open Bareback Ride.

Gerard Oversby had a fantastic ride on board Yogi in the Open Bull Ride to record 81 points and win from Casey Crawley who was second on Geramill with 72 points.

The pair were the only two riders from a group of seven who lasted the required eight seconds to have their rides count.

Josh Barnett riding Twisted Sister in the Open Saddle Bronc ride at the Sullivan’s
Mining & Hardware Rough Stock Rodeo on Saturday. Barnett scored 76 points for the ride to finish equal first with Brewarrina’s Mark Redmond on Baggy Boots. Photo
courtesy of Klae McGuinness Photography

Nevertire-based Ben Rasmussen won the Novice Saddle Bronc Ride with a score of 69 points and Brendan Crawley was the only qualifier in the Novice Bull Ride winning with a great score of 71 points.

Kasey Till won the Under 11 Barrel Race on April in a time of 21.949 seconds.

She was well ahead of the next place-getter, Lacey Ohlsen who negotiated the three barrels in a time of 30.905 seconds.

Justin Till and Maverick won the 11-14 years Barrel Race in 17.86 seconds with Skyla Wicks second (25.81).

Tania Till (on board A Smart Roc) was the winner of the 14-18 years Barrel Race with a time of 17.455 seconds.

In the Steer Rides, the winners were: 8-11 years—Dustin Ohlsen; 11-14 years—1st Cooper Mitchell and 2nd Klay Mendham; 14-18 years—1st—Brandy Wicks, 2nd Jesse Dennis and 3rd James Stockdale.