Juniors host Narromine and Nyngan for a big day of footy

A recent convert to rugby league, Cobar’s Oisin McMullen (with the ball) was a standout player against Narromine in the Under 11s game on Saturday at Tom Knight Memorial Oval.

The Cobar Roosters Junior Rugby League Club hosted Narromine and Nyngan teams for Round 2 of the Dubbo & District Junior Rugby League competition on Saturday at Tom Knight Memorial Oval.

The Under 14s game between the Roosters and Narromine was a high scoring and highly entertaining game which the visitors eventually won 44-28.

Cobar’s points came from tries to Reynold Mugugia (2), Elias Aumua, Jarrod Hilton, Ryan Urquhart and Troy Robertson with Tommy Rogers and Ryan Urquhart kicking a goal each.

Ryan Urquhart and Elias Aumua collected the coach’s awards.

After having the bye last week, it was a great first hit out for the Cobar team which only has 14 registered players this year.

With some outstanding new recruits, it’s a side that is already showing a lot of promise.

The Cobar Under 16s were beaten 40-4 by the Nyngan visitors with Seb Best Cobar’s lone try scorer.

Coaches awards were earned by Khan McMurray and Riley Porter.

The Under 12s were defeated 30-6 by Narromine.

Points for Cobar were recorded by Kai Taylor (try) and Nathan Bartlett (goal).

Nick Reschke and Ebony Aumua shared the coach’s award.

The Cobar Under 11s put up a good fight in their 24-6 loss to Narromine.

A rugby league convert this season, Oisin McMullen played an outstanding game to share the coach’s award with Jedd Budd who also played well.

Dustin Crotty scored their try which was converted by Oisin.

Jaxon Burke and Hayden Seng were stand-outs in their Under 10s clash with Narromine.

The Cobar team fought hard but went down 34-6 to the visitors.

Ryan Mugugia were responsible for Cobar’s six points with a try and a conversion.

The Minis and Under 9s played their games at Tom Knight Oval on Sunday morning.

Coach’s awards in the Under 9s went to Kai McCosker and Rowdy Barton while Audrey Josephson and Tommy George collected the Minis coach’s awards.