Eight wicket win for Whackers in a Twenty/20 walkover

The winning Whackers Twenty/20 cricket team at Ward Oval on Friday afternoon: Seb Best, Ryan Urquhart, Matt Shepherd, Paddy Harris, Tim Hillam, Johnny Best, Robert Childs, David Watson, Wyatt Proudlove, Charlie Douglas and Ben Simon.

Whackers were too strong for Faces of Chalk in Friday night’s Twenty/20 Cricket competition, winning by eight wickets.

Batting first, Faces of Chalk could only manage 88 runs.

Matt Reynolds top scored with 32 runs.

John Doherty was the only other batsmen to score double figures with 10.

For Whackers, David Watson took 2/10, Sam Best had 2/18 and Matt Shepherd also bowled well with 2/23.

In reply, Whackers passed the required total in the eighth over.

Marc Anderson top scored with 44 not out and Ben Simon finished with 41, including hitting one of the biggest ever sixers seen at Ward Oval.

Jack Fazulla was the best of Faces of Chalk’s bowlers, taking two wickets and only conceding five runs.