Cricket end of season celebrations

Matthew Nicholson presenting Cobar Senior Cricket’s Player of the Year trophy to Jade
Buckman (centre) with club president Jake Harbison at the end of season presentations on
Saturday night at the Empire Hotel. ▪ Photo contributed

The Cobar senior cricket season came to a
close on Saturday night with the end of season
presentations held following the 40
Overs grand final game.
Empire claimed the 40 Overs competition
trophy with Jay Egan named the Player of the
Grand Final.
Ruthless Toothless picked up their Twenty20
winners’ trophy with Jed Noonan collecting the
Player of the Grand Final award.
Jade Buckman was named the Player of the
Year for both the 40 Overs and Twenty20 competitions
and also collected the Paula Potter
Memorial Trophy Award as Cricketer of the
Buckman scored the most runs this season
(338), had the highest score (101) and also took
the most wickets with a tally of 18.
Club president Jake Harbison was honoured
as a Life Member Inductee and he was also
named this season’s Club Person of the Year.
The Representative Player of the Year was
Nicola Harbison with Jason Hampel collecting
the Steve Wetzel Memorial Cup as the best allrounder
of the season.
Nymagee’s Charlie Nicholson earned the
Glenn Spinks Award as the junior player with
the most potential.
The Under 24 Player of the Year was Ryan
Urquhart and the Under 18 Player of the Year
award went to Zac Broughton.
This season’s Gentlemen of Cricket award
went to Rhys Lloyd.
Jay Egan finished with the best bowling figures
of the season with six wickets for 31 runs.
Stephen Nicholson recorded the most catches
of the year with eight and Jack Brown claimed
the most unenviable ’Daddles’ award as having
the Most Ducks (dismissed before recording
any runs at all).