Cobar Rodeo pays tribute to a former champion, Beeza

Cooper Beeney, riding Covergirl in the Novice Bareback Ride at Cobar Rodeo on
Saturday. Beeney scored 63 points to finish second in the event.

The 2022 Cobar Rough Stock Rodeo was a
real humdinger on Saturday with the event
paying tribute to a former resident and Rodeo
champion, Robert ‘Beeza’ Josephson.
A big field of quality riders, a large and enthusiastic
crowd, great music and fantastic
weather all combined to make Saturday’s event
a memorable one.
The Australian Bushmen’s Campdraft &
Rodeo Association (ABCRA) affiliated competition
had 168 entries for the action-packed
14 event program at the Dalton Park Horse
Sports Complex.
Among the competitors were ABCRA’s current
No 2 National All Round Cowboy and No
1 Open Bareback rider, Gerard Oversby, along
with the current National No 2 and No 3 Open
Bareback competitors, Travis Heeb and Brendon
The competition in the Ladies’ events was
also of a high standard with current No 5 and
No 6 All Round Cowgirls, Emma Thompson
and Michelle Potter, competing on Saturday.
A trophy buckle was awarded for every event
(with the Saddlebronc and Bull Ride champion
buckles dedicated to Beeza) with prizemoney
paid out for 1st to 5th places.
Travis Heeb showed them how it was done
in the Bareback Ride winning with a score of
83 points over Gerard Oversby on 78.
Cobar’s Mitch Tidyman placed 4th with 72
The Bull Ride finished in a tie between Trefor
Sproule (on Tear Drop) and Cody Hotson
(on Dodgers Colours) after both recorded 75
points from their rides.
Bobbi Ward on Thunder set the pace in the
Ladies Barrel Race winning with a quick time
of 16.742 seconds ahead of Emma Thompson
on Eddie (16.917).
The Novice Bareback winner was Zac Mansfield
with 65 points with Cooper Beeney second
with 63 points.
Michelle Potter won the Novice Barrel Horse
event on Sweet Like Candy with a time of
17.349 just pipping Jodi Kilmartin (on Bullet)
with a time of 17.505.
There was a three-way tie in the Novice Bull
Ride with Edward Webster, Cody Hotson and
Cooper Mitchell all recording 65 points.
The Novice Saddle Bronc winner was Jack
Whiteley-Eldridge and Mark Redmond won
the Saddle Bronc Ride with 71 points.

In the Juniors, No 3 in the All Round Junior
Cowboy standings, Levi Ward, added further
points to his season tally with a win in the 11
years to Under 14 years Junior Steer Ride.
Ward scored 69 points with three other riders
tying for second place, all with 64 points
Cora Wilson had the quickest time in the
Under 14 Junior Barrel event with 17.044 seconds
to win from Amber Haling, second on
There was a tie for first place in the Under 18
Juvenile Steer event with Cooper Mitchell and
Klay Mendham both finishing with 67 points.
Skyla Wicks riding Ziggy narrowly grabbed
first place in the U18 Juvenile Barrel event
with a time of 16.688 seconds just ahead of
Thomas Hutton (on Cold Play) with 16.972.
The Under 11 Junior Steer Ride was won by
Bob Wilson with 71 points over Josiah
Klingner on 68.
Stevee Besant riding Viper finished in front
in the Under 11 Junior Barrel Race, with a time
of 17.324 with Franki Ward on Dusty (17.864)
second. Cobar’s Lara Stephens placed 5th on
Polly in a time of 21.859.