Yabbies retain the coveted Setts Memorial Cup trophy

The Cobar Yabbies, for the sixth year running, have retained the Setts Cup Memorial Swim Trophy with another win over the Nyngan Splashers on Sunday.

With the Splashers greatly outnumbered by the Cobar swimmers, it was always going to be a big ask for them to steal the trophy this year and, of the five events contested, Nyngan swimmers only featured twice, and one of those times was finishing second in the relay!

Cobar Yabbies’ Rhys Lloyd grabbed a first up win in the 30 metres freestyle handicapped swim after finishing within 0.03 seconds of his nominated time.

In second spot was Andrew Verevis on 0.09 and Chris Powell rounded out the Yabbies’ trifecta to finish third with 0.15.

The Yabbies were also hard to beat in the 50m swim with Cameron van Breugel finishing spot on his nominated time to win from Stephen ‘Pud’ Clark on 0.06 and Lloyd and Murray Harland tied for third place with 0.12.

It was all Yabbies one-way traffic in the 100m event with returning Yabbie Rob Dickerson claiming first place with a spot on swim ahead of van Breugel (second with 0.09) and Harland was third on 0.31.

The Yabbies team of Doug Rorke and Greg Diamond won the Brace Relay with 0.22 seconds off their nominated time with Nyngan swimmers Nigel Tyack and Ron Lovett grabbing second place (0.59) and Dickerson and Scott Toomey were third with 1.22 off their time.

The Cobar 10 Man relay team was too quick finishing 12.29 seconds outside their nominated time however it was still enough to beat the Nyngan Splashers who were 25.47 seconds off their nominated time.

With a total of 28 points to just two points, the Yabbies were again convincing winners of the annual competition.

In the Yabbies competition swim last Tuesday night the spoils were shared around with 12 names appearing on the winner’s list.

Three of those swimmers were called to the podium twice during the evening with Lucas Hardy winning both the 50 metres and 100 metres freestyle handicap events, Murray Harland finished with two third places and Cameron van Breugel recorded a second and a third place.

Hardy won the 50m with a time of 0.09 seconds off his nominated time with van Breugel second (0.13) and Harland was third on 0.15.

Hardy was well out in front in the 100m swim with 0.03 seconds off his time.

Bill Fugar was second on 0.25 and Harland was third again with 0.59.

For the second week running Andrew Verevis claimed first place in the 30m swim, this week with a time of 0.09 seconds off his nominated time.

In second place was Tyler Roberts on 0.12 and Matt Harland managed to regain some of his previous good form from earlier this season to finish in third place on 0.25.

Scott Toomey and Rhys Lloyd teamed up to win the Brace Relay novelty event (a backstroke race across the pool).

They finished within 1.16 of their nominated time with the team of John Carswell and Shane Josephson second on 1.18 and third were van Breugel and Bob Clark with 1.28.




The Cobar and Nyngan swimmers at the Setts Cup Memorial Swimming Carnival.