There were plenty of winners at this year’s Cobar Show

There was a great roll up for the 2021 Cobar Show, particularly on Friday night with lots of families turning out to see the fantastic fireworks display. This year’s show was officially opened by Shane Fitzsimmons AFSM, Commissioner of Resilience Eva Halliger, with multiple wins in a variety
of categories, took home the Lyle Boucher
Memorial Trophy as the Most Successful
Exhibitor in the Main Pavilion at this year’s
Cobar Show.
There was a great response from local crafters,
photographers, bakers and creators of all
ages with 715 entries received for exhibition in
20 different sections this year in the Main Pavilion.
Eva had wins in the Vegetables, Floral Art,
Flowers, Jams and Preserves, Fruit and Eggs
Cora McKervey and Tyler Clark won the
Junior Most Successful Girl and Boy titles
while the Jan Snelson Memorial Encouragement
Awards went to Darcy Manns and Willow
Also among the Main Pavilion winners were:
Christine Gordon (craft section); Megan Giurin
(Cake Decorating); Bobbi Murray
(Needlework); Sam Smith (Photography); Mimi
and Tyler Clark, Isla McKervey, Abigail
Theakston, Grace Cavalot (Junior Fine Arts);
Phyllis Budd (Knitting and Crochet); Kylie
Harvey, Sue Cox, Jessica Sinclair (Fine Arts).
In the horses events, Tillie Cain won the
Allan and Cecile Wells Memorial Award for
Outstanding Effort by a Local Rider and Elise
Smith from Bourke was the Supreme Champion
Ridden District Hack winner.
The number of entries and exhibitors was up
in this year’s Wool Pavilion compared to previous
A group of 10 exhibitors entered a total of
40 fleeces which were judged by Don Macdonald
of Macdonald and Co Wool from Dubbo
who reported this year’s wool was of outstanding
quality reflecting the great seasonal
conditions over the last 12 months.
The wool is judged to a national standard
with points awarded to each fleece for Trueness
to type, length, soundness, colour, character,
softness, evenness and yield.
The fleece is then given a yield percent out
of 100, a Micron value and then the fleece
value is worked out from here.
Fleece values this year ranged from $40 to
Tambua were winners of the Champion District
Ram Fleece, Champion District Commercial
Fleece (with the top value of $125.34), the
District Champion Fleece of Show, Champion
Open Ram Fleece, Poll Merino Stud Open
Champion Fleece of Show and the Poll Merino
Stud Grand Champion Fleece of Show.
The Champion District Ewe or Wether Fine
winner was Jock Hudson, Pinchinara; the Poll
Merino Stud Best Merino Fleece Exhibited by
a Junior winner was Darcy Manns of Gidgee
who also won Best In Section-Class 21-23.
The Noel Patterson Memorial Trophy was
won by Lexi Cain of Buckwaroon.

Exhibitor numbers were slightly down in the
Sheep section at this year’s show however the
total number of sheep was up by 20 on previous
The Sheep were judged by Warrick Kopp
from Towalba Merino Stud at Peak Hill.
He reported the sheep were very well presented
and in great condition reflecting the
recovery from a few tough, dry years.
Sheep are judged to an industry standard for
size, structure of body, conformation, overall
presentation of sheep as well as quality, style
and length of wool.
The winners of the Sheep section were:
Champion Pen of 3 Wethers (Michael and Kate
Evans); Terry Dunne of Double Gates won the
Champion Pen of 3 Ewes and Champion Flock
Ewe classes; Mullengudgery Merinos, Nyngan
won seven classes including Champion Grassfed
Ewe, Poll Merino Stud Champion Housed
Ram, Poll Merino Stud Reserve Grand Champion
Ewe of Show, Grand Champion Ram of
Show, Reserve Grand Champion Ram of Show
and Grand Champion Poll Merino Exhibit;
Tambua won Reserve Grassfed Ewe, Champion
Housed Ewe, had the Grand Champion Ewe
of Show, the Champion Pair and Tambua Poll
Merino Stud won the Poll Merino Stud Champion
Breeders Group prize; Glenwarra Poll
Merinos of Nyngan took out the Poll Merino
Stud Champion Grassfed Ram and Reserve
Grassfed Ram classes.
There were 18 entrants in the Pet Show with
the following results: Cutest Puppy 0-6
months—‘Marli’ (Michelle Emmert); Cutest
Puppy over 6 months—‘Macy’ (Kim Cox);
Best Dressed Pet—‘Dexter’ (Che Dionysius);

Fluffiest Pet—‘Holly’ and ‘Phoebe’ (Leanne
Mackay); Best Large Breed Do—
‘Radar’ (Stacey Trudgett); Best Medium Breed
Dog—‘Sox’ (Chloe Griffiths); Best Mannered
Dog—‘Missy’ (Julie Hill); Best Small Breed
Dog—‘Percy’ (Amy Smith); Happiest Dog—
‘Barry’ (Bridget Brookman); Best Trick/
Performance—‘Jerry Lee’ (Bobbi Murray);
Most Unusual Pet—‘Marshmallow’ (Rachel
Hibbert); Golden Oldie 10yrs plus—16 year
old ‘Trixie’ (Damon Piri); and Biggest Cat—
‘Frank’ (Jacqueline York).