Roosters celebrate season of mixed fortunes

The Cobar Rugby League Football Club celebrated a season of mixed fortunes on Saturday night with their end of season presentations at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club.

While the club once again celebrated the  Under 18s side’s win of the 2019 Castlereagh Youth League competition, their First Grade and League Tag teams were left to lament on a season that could have been better.

Under 18s coaches Dean ‘Bogga’ McLeod and Darrel ‘Dasha’ Warren praised their side on their competition win and said the team will only get better next season.

First Grade coach Jimmy Neyland said he was disappointed the team had made a slow start to this year’s competition and, coupled with a number of injuries, it had ultimately prevented them from dominating the Castlereagh competition as he had hoped.

Neyland said they are however “a very talented group” who can make a better showing in next year’s competition.

Ladies League Tag coach Bianka Jacobson said it had been an honour and a privilege to coach the Roosterettes this season and she had been pleased with the efforts of her side, in particular their strong finish of the season.

Perpetual trophies this year went to: Most Improved Footballer—Mel Singh; Most Consistent Forward—Jed Noonan; Norm Armstrong Memorial Shield Most Consistent Back—Ash Davies; Most Consistent Footballer—Jed Noonan; Di McLeod Memorial Player with the Most Potential—Ash Davies; Most Tries—Tim Hillam (15); 2019 Highest Point Scorer—Tim Hillam (60 points); Representative Player of the Year—Brennah Aumua; Daryle Bannister Memorial Trophy Rookie of the Year—Madasan Taylor; Barry Fox Memorial Trophy Most Dedicated Player—David Watson; Robb Gilligan Memorial Shield Junior Clubman of the Year—Braith Good; and Tom Knight Memorial Shield Clubman of the Year—Deighton Family.

The Best and Fairest players this season in each grade were: Under 18s—Johnny Best; League Tag—Brianna Watson; and First Grade—Jed Noonan while the Eric Martin Memorial Club Best and Fairest Shield went to Ash Davies.

The Under 18s team awards went to: the Coach’s award was shared by Kody Ford and Raymond Dennis; Best Forward—Johnny Best; Best Back—Lachlan Ford; and Players’ Player—Ash Davies. Continued Page 30.