Riley and Indirose collect Cobar Little A’s new awards

Cobar Little Athletics Club’s inaugural Encouragement Awards for the 2018/19 season were presented to Under 14s athlete Riley Bottom and Under 8s Indirose Saunders at the club’s presentation night at the Cobar Bowling & Golf Club last Monday.

The Cobar Little Athletics Club held their end of season presentations last Monday night at the Cobar Bowling &Golf Club.

This year the club introduced two new encouragement awards which were awarded to athletes who were consistent in participation and sportsmanship, were respectful, friendly and helpful and who also proved to be good role models for the club.

Under 8s Indirose Saunders and Under 14s Riley Bottom were the inaugural winners of the new encouragement awards.

Indirose was also the overall point score champion with 115 points with Under 9s Lachlan Brookman the runner-up with 100 points.

Point score trophies and championship medals were handed out to the top three male and female athletes in each age category from Under 6 to Under 17.

This season’s point score winners were:

Under 6 Girls—Lauren O’Sullivan and Boys—Sonny Stephens (runners-up Bria-June Brookman and Eligh Ritter); Under 7—Ivy Budd and Mark McBride (runners-up Elainne Jacobs and Thomas Knight); Under 8—Indirose Saunders and Talas Burke (runners-up Lara Stephens and Jaxon Waugh); Under 9—Charlotte Knight and Lachlan Brookman (runners-up Lila Armstrong and Lian Jacobs); Under 10—Chloe Griffiths and Nate Martin (runner-up Maddison Jeffery); Under 11—Rori Urquhart and Zaiden Saunders (runner-up Jaxon Burke); Under 12—Dakota Connolly and Daniel Buckman (runners-up Cassidy O’Sullivan and Dustin Crotty); Under 13—Sarah Morley; Under 14—Heidi Trudgett and Riley Bottom; Under 15—Ryan Urquhart; and Under 17— Lucy Bell and Ben Griffiths.

The clubs 2018/2019 club champions were: Under 6 Girls—Lauren O’Sullivan and Boys—Eligh Ritter; Under 7—Isabelle Gillette and Lucas Townsend; Under 8—Lara Stephens and Jaxon Waugh; Under 9—Lila Armstrong and Lian Jacobs; Under 10—Evelyn Williams; Under 11—Rori Urquhart and Zaiden Saunders; Under 12—Dakota Connolly; Under 13—Sarah Morley; Under 14—Riley Bottom; Under 15—Ryan Urquhart; and Under 17— Ben Griffiths.