Exceptional results for Yabbies in Four Ways swim

The Cobar Yabbies Senior Men’s Swimming Club hosted the annual Four Ways swimming carnival on Saturday with swimmers from five men’s clubs taking part.
Pictured are the club presidents John Carswell (Cobar), David Sly (Forbes), Ed Semmens (Gosford) and Richard Barwick (Nelson Bay).

The Cobar Yabbies hosted the annual Four Ways (previously Five Ways) carnival on Sunday at the Cobar Memorial Swimming Pool.

The men only swimming clubs of Forbes Diggers, Gosford Diggers and Nelson Bay Aquaholics (along with one swimmer from Malabar) joined the Cobar Yabbies Senior Men’s Club to contest a range of handicapped and scratch race events.

Of the field of 50 swimmers for the event, there were 17 in the Cobar Yabbies team.

Despite missing out on the prestigious 10 Man Aquaholics Relay trophy (which was won by Gosford), the Cobar club did exceptionally well in all of the other events.

Young Yabbies Matt Harland and Cameron van Bruegel finished one and two in the 50 metres scratch race with Harland recording 30.41 seconds to claim first place ahead of van Bruegel, who got off to a slow start but finished well to clock 30.50 seconds in second place.

Nelson Bay’s junior member Todd Elliott was back in third place on 34.0.

Cobar finished in the top three places of the 100 metres Ian Settree Memorial Handicap event with Jason Toomey first with 0.06 seconds off his nominated time.

Paul Swainston was second (0.10) and Matt Harland placed third (0.13).

Doug Rorke won the 30m handicapped event in style swimming spot on his nominated time.

Cobar Yabbies’ president John Carswell was second with 0.03 off his time and Paul Nixon from Gosford was third (0.10).

Adam Andrews from Forbes won the 50m handicap event with a spot on swim.

Cameron van Bruegel, with 0.22 seconds off his nominated time, finished in second place.

Gosford president Ed Semmens won the 50m President’s Race with a good time of 0.10 seconds off his nominated time.

He was well ahead of John Carswell (Cobar) on 1.78 and David Sly (Forbes’ president) was further back in third place with 2.31 seconds off his time.

The Gosford team easily won the 10 Man Relay finishing with a very good time of 0.37 seconds of their nominated time.

Cobar was next best with 9.41 off their time; Nelson Bay was third (11.44) and Forbes finished 16.32 seconds outside their nominated time for fourth place.