CSA wins thrilling Twenty20 grand final in the last over

The Twenty20 cricket grand final on Friday night at Ward Oval between CSA and Bushies went down to the final over in an exciting match.

Bushies batted first and made 2/130 from their 20 overs.

Opener Alec Fraser batted through the innings making 55 not out off 51 balls.

Matt Nicholson made 44 from 47 balls and Craig Youd contributed 10 to Bushies’ total.

The wicket takers for CSA were Pat Dillon (1/13) and David Watson (1/28).

In reply, CSA lost the early wickets of Travis Dunlevy (4), Tadgh Waugh (7) and Pat Dillon (9) to be 3/28 in the 5th over.

Robbie Mitchell and David Watson came together to share in the match-winning partnership.

Mitchell was in an aggressive mood blasting 48 runs from 30 balls before he was caught out.

Watson almost got CSA home but was dismissed for 44 in the 18th over with only four runs needed for victory.

In the 19th over, CSA scored three runs to level the game but the match was still in the balance when they lost the wickets of Scott Leedham and Joe Regan to be 7/130.

Slade Neale scored the winning run off the first ball of the last over to see CSA home by three wickets. The wicket takers for Bushies were: Glenn Spinks 2/10, Lachlan Sullivan 2/21, Craig Tanke 2/24 and Craig Youd 1/21.—contributed