Annual mayoral election tomorrow

Cobar Shire councillors will vote tomorrow night to elect their mayor and deputy mayor for the year ahead.

Nominations for the position of mayor and deputy mayor have been called and were to have closed at 4pm yesterday.

While councillors are elected for a four year term, the mayor and deputy mayor are re-elected each year by their fellow councillors.

Cr Lilliane Brady is expected to run again for the position of mayor and Cr Peter Abbott has declared that he is interested in retaining the position of deputy mayor.

It looks like they will run uncontested after former mayor, Cr Peter Yench, told The Cobar Weekly yesterday that he doesn’t plan to nominate for either position and former deputy mayor Tracey Kings said she also will not be looking for election to either role.

Past deputy mayor Marsha Isbester said she also has no intention of taking on either role and, as of yesterday afternoon, no other councillors had advised The Cobar Weekly of their intention to stand for election.